What is a Parish Council?

Parish Councils are the third tier of local government. They may choose to call themselves a Parish or Town Council depending on the number of residents, but this does not alter their status or responsibilities. Aintree Parish Council, now known as Aintree Village Parish Council , was established in 1895 and consists of twelve voluntary Parish Councillors who are elected for a four year term of office to serve and administer needs of the residents of Aintree Village. It employs a part time Clerk to the Council and a part time Responsible Finance Officer to implement policy decisions. Funding is raised by a precept on each residential property in the Parish of Aintree Village.

What do they do?

The Parish Council owns Harrow Drive Playing Fields and maintains high standards for the park. The facilities on offer to the public include two full size football pitches, a bowling green and pavilion, three tennis courts, basketball, children's play equipment and adult exercise equipment. There is also an enclosed area used for additional tennis, roller hockey and five a side football etc.. The Parish Council also has a long term lease of a private footpath around Aintree Racecourse.

When do they meet?

The Parish Council normally meets on the third Monday of each month at 7.00pm, at the main council building, the Council Chamber, in Harrow Drive park . A notice of every meeting is displayed in the Parish Council notice boards by the shops in Altway and Molyneux Way. Agendas and minutes are available on this website. Except for certain confidential matters, Parish Council meetings are open to the public. Members of the public can also petition the Council at the start of every meeting; notice is not required but it is useful to let the Clerk know in advance so that all relevant information can be made available to petitioners


Downloads minutes from the last 12 months are available here.

Minutes 14 Dec 2015 Minutes 17.07.17 Minutes 2017.03.20 External Audit Report 2016
Minutes 18 July 2016 Minutes 2017.09.18 Minutes 2017.03.03 Minutes 2017.03.16
Budget and precept for 2016/17 Minutes 2017.10.16 Minutes 2016.12.19 Park Minutes 2017.02.06
18 January 2016 Registrable Interests - W Honeyman Minutes 19 September 2016 Reg Interests S Gent
STANDING ORDERS & CHAIRMANSHIP Councillor attendance April17 to March18 Minutes 2017.12.18 Internal Audit Report Oct16-Sep17
Annual Parish Meeting 2016 Minutes Extraordinary meeting 2018.01.25 Park Committee Minutes 2017.11.17 Internal Audit Report Nov17-Feb18
Internal Audit Oct16 to Jan17 Minutes 2017.11.20 Internal Audit 2016 Apr-Sep Park Minutes 02.08.17
Annual Return documents 2016-17 Meeting Timetable 2017-18 21 March 2016 Agenda 19.03.18
Minutes 2016.11.21 Park Comm Minutes 2017.06. 13 Reg Interests G Downey Park Committee Minutes 5 August 2016
25 January 2016 Precept (band C) Reg Interests R Preston Minutes 2017.02.20
Park Minutes 2017.03.06 Reg Interests N Kelly Park Committee - Minutes 18 March 2016 RISK MANAGEMENT PLAN & ASSET REGISTER
Annual Parish Meeting - Minutes 2017.05.15 Reg Interests M Carter Park Committee - Minutes 16 June 2016 Park Committee - Minutes 19 April 2016
Minutes 2017.05.15 Reg Interests C Feeley Park Committee - Minutes 12 July 2016 22 Feb 2016
Minutes 16 May 2016 Reg Interests M Wykes Minutes 19 October 2015 25th April 2016
Minutes 15 August 2016 Reg Interests J Colbert Minutes 23 Nov 2015 Minutes 2017.01.16
Minutes 2016.10.17 Minutes 21.08.17 Minutes 20 June 2016 Minutes 2018.01.15
Minutes 2017.04.24 Minutes 2017.06.19 Minutes 4 July 2016 Annual Plan 2018-19
Reg Interests G Harris Park Minutes 2017.01.13 FINANCIAL REGULATIONS Minutes 2018.02.19

Who are they?

Chairman Councillor

Mike Carter (and member of the Park Committee)

Vice-Chairman Councillor Bill Honeyman

Jack Colbert
Godfrey Downey
Colm Feeley
Stephen Gent (Chairman of the Park Committee)
Glyn Harris
Neil Kelly
Ray Preston
Marion Wykes (member of the Park Committee)

The Clerk to the Council Mo Kundi
Responsible Finance Officer

Karen Ellis

Registrable Interests

Click here to access Sefton Council's website, where you can find register of interest forms for each Parish Councillor.

History of Aintree Village Parish Council

The 1894 Local Government Act passed through Parliament on 5th March 1894. Most Parish Council Elections took place on 4th December 1894. At that time Aintree Village had only three hundred residents and it was decided that Aintree was too small for a Parish Council. Aintree won an appeal against this decision and held their election on 7th February 1895.

Quote from Ormskirk Advertiser, 6th December 1894:

“This meeting was held in the Schoolroom Aintree, Mr William Pye presiding. A resolution was passed establishing a Parish Council for the Parish Of Aintree”

It was said of the Local Government Act that;

“Every labourere who pays the smallest rate in his Parish, will have a choice in the election of his Council and would, when the duties are fully understood, exercise it for his own benefits.”

Aintree Village is often confused with other areas including those known as Walton Vale and Hartley’s Village, which are 2 miles away and are governed by Liverpool City Council. Aintree is widely believed to mean ‘one tree’ or ‘tree standing alone’. Aintree Village was first documented as ‘Ayntre’ in a charter of Cockersand Abbey written about 1200 AD. Local historians have researched Aintree Village and found other early documented evidence. With this in mind, it was decided by the Parish Council to assure the area of its own identity and to revert back to its original name of ‘Aintree Village’. This request was granted by Sefton Council in 1999.